Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Weather related madness…

So if you didn’t know…I’m home all alone this week as my wife and daughter are out of town visiting her family. This is great because my wife has worked full-time over the last several years and just quit her job in May so that she can start back at school in the fall. So she is making up for lost time and I of course get to rule the roost for the week only responsible for the cat. Poor kitty. (I digress.)

So last night I’m in bed and at that critical point in the night where dreamland is but seconds away. And if your one of those types that is used to falling asleep with someone else in bed with you, you can appreciate just how critical falling asleep alone really is. So just as I was about to enter that magical and sometimes elusive state of sleep…the sirens go off. (You can catch some local coverage here.) So I instantly wake up and flip on the TV hoping that it’s really something I shouldn’t be worried about. In fact the storm track was going to put the alleged tornado very close if not right over my house. Not only that but because of today’s technology I knew that it would be here at exactly 12:04am. I thought about setting my alarm. But it really is hard to sleep when you can hear the blaring of warning sirens from two different municipalities and the guys on TV are hyperventilating and trying to keep track of all their radars and storm spotters and what not.

Needless to say I made it. The house made it. Even the kitty made it. How do you cope when the weather turns nasty? How about when your by yourself?

2 responses

  1. Karen

    Depends on the type of weather crisis which is looming Kenyon. If we are getting dumped on by enormous quantities of snow, I figure this is Canada eh? I get back into my pjs, email the office that I won’t be in, haul out the laptop and work for awhile then cuddle up with hot chocolate and some DVDs or a book. Can’t do anything about it so why worry. My husband will shovel it all when the storm is over and tomorrow is another day.

    But if it is going to be serious – like the ice storm we had ten years ago when we lost power for 2 weeks and trees were falling on houses and in roads; the city of Montreal basically ground to a halt – then I go into full organization and planning mode. Do we have the essentials. How to keep everyone safe. Keep us warm and fed. Keep the optimism flowing in our home.

    If I am by myself, the worst is if we have a major thunder storm with eye burning lightning at night. Can’t tell you how many times I have pretended to be brave so the kids were not afraid.

    You have reminded me of the time we were in Nova Scotia visiting family and our girls were sleeping in a room down the hall from us. They were 2 and 6 at the time. In the wee hours of the morning the air-raid sirens went off to call the volunteer firemen to the fire station across the street from my aunt’s house. I do not think I have ever jumped out of bed so fast. I ran down the hall at Mach speed to be with the girls so they would not be afraid.

    June 6, 2008 at 6:36 pm

  2. kenyongerbrandt

    Karen–I definetely need you around here in such times of crisis. I am not usually that quick to think long-term. I am usually focused on what’s happening, where it’s happening and what can I expect. That’s a great story about the kiddos. You are a good mama!

    June 6, 2008 at 6:53 pm

Leave a Reply

