Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

No Doubt

During my quiet time this morning I read this passage here. It really hit me. Even among the eleven closest disciples there was immediate doubt about Jesus and his resurrection. I think that the doubt was deeper than questioning whether the whole resurrection thing was even possible. I think the doubt went so deep as to question who is Jesus and what do I believe about him.

To me this is reassuring. To know that not even the ones that were closest to Jesus while he was here on earth even got it. Obviously, they all came around and each eventually went so far in their faith and belief about Jesus that they suffered miserable death themselves. And of course all of it was predicted by Jesus. He knew. Did he get mad? Did he kick them out because they were hesitant? No. Jesus was undeterred. He knew where they were at in that moment and he knew where they would be in the future.

I’ve got some friends who are relatively new in their faith. Some of them have been walking with Jesus for 4 years or less. I get frustrated. I get deterred. I begin to doubt even myself. It’s pretty cool when you can begin to see how merciful, how gracious God really is.

How do you deal with your doubts?

3 responses

  1. Hey Kenyon,
    I just found your blog yesterday. I really like it. I love that God doesn’t get deterred too. I bring my doubts to Him and ask Him to reveal Himself to my heart. There are a lot of things I believe with my head but I want to live the truth, not just talk about it. I have a long way to go though.

    June 12, 2008 at 3:19 pm

  2. kenyongerbrandt

    Tawny–thanks for stopping by. “There are a lot of things I believe with my head but I want to live the truth, not just talk about it.” That my friend is pure gold. It needs to be cross stiched into a pillow and placed on every bed!

    June 12, 2008 at 3:52 pm

  3. I have you in my reader, so I will be back! 🙂 Thanks for the nice words!

    June 12, 2008 at 3:59 pm

Leave a Reply

