Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

What’s so civil about a lack of rights?

I have a confession to make. I’ve been spending time in a part of town that I probably shouldn’t be in. Yup, I’ve been truckin’ myself to the “other side of the tracks” the last couple of weeks. In fact I’ll be over there again on Thursday. But I must say that I’ve learned alot.

I live in Tulsa, OK. It’s a great city and a great place to live. It really has a unique blend of culture and diversity that I haven’t experienced in other mid west towns and cities. Tulsa also has a very rich and unique history. A history that I’ve learned over the last couple of weeks that has a very disturbing and dark side to it.

This week I’m going to be posting some thoughts, reflections and issues related to the June 1921 Tulsa Race Riot (or as some have called it the Tulsa Race War). If you are unfamiliar with this event it’s ok. I was too up until a couple of weeks ago. And if you think its time that we just leave the past in the past, then I agree with you. Well, at least I would have agreed with you up until a couple of weeks ago. Stick with me this week cause I want to broach a subject that doesn’t really have an answer and I need your input, your perspective.

Are you with me?

P.S. If you want to do some background research here is a great start.

3 responses

  1. I am with you. I grew up in California and didn’t think anyone was prejudice anymore. Then I lived in Georgia……..

    June 17, 2008 at 2:39 am

  2. Pingback: A New Hope. « My Blahg Life by Kenyon Gerbrandt

  3. Pingback: Greenwood Update « My Blahg Life by Kenyon Gerbrandt

Leave a Reply

