Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

BOLD

Ran across this article at wikiHow. How to be bold.

The first step, according to the article; “pretend that you are already bold.”

I find that a bit interesting. If you are not bold, then would you even know how to start pretending? Shouldn’t you first learn what it means to be bold before you begin “acting bold”?

Then I thought about faith. Is is ridiculous for me to ask someone to just have faith, especially if they don’t know what faith is? Ninjawords defines faith as:

“mental acceptance of and confidence in a claim as truth without proof supporting the claim”

Obviously, at some point in the journey of faith one is faced with the descision do I accept this as truth or fiction and live my life accordingly. So can one pretend their way to faith? Maybe in some instances for a while. I’m reminded of Matthew 13:1-23.  So if you struggle with being bold, learn what it means to be bold AND then start acting bold. If you struggle with faith, learn what faith is and then live in the knowledge that you have.

P.S. As a Christian I would never assume or suggest that as humans we can obtain all the answers to all the questions. I know plenty of very intelligent and moral people who do not have faith that there is a God let alone a way to know God personally.

2 responses

  1. mimi

    I find this very funny, because I have a little saying and it is “pretend like I am adventerous” I first used this years ago, when on a date the guy took me rapelling. i really wanted to do it, but I was scared. so I just “acted” like i was adventerous, and went over that mountain. It was great. I have used it several times since then…..but having to do with faith. i know that a lot of times i have to do things even while i am still scared. i have knocked on many a neighbors door while on the inside i am running back home. i have sent emails or said things to friends that on the inside i am waiting for them to hit me or hate me after i say it, but I know it is the right thing to say….faith, it is exciting.

    June 21, 2008 at 10:47 pm

  2. scootergirl1978

    I think it’s kind of like acting like you’re in a good mood when you’re really not, but the longer you act like you’re in a good mood the more you will really be in a good mood. Did that make sense? But then do you take it one step further and say ‘fake it til you make it’? Because you can’t fake Faith.

    June 22, 2008 at 5:52 am

Leave a Reply

