Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Answers.

Today is a test day. Not for me but my students. We will be testing over three chapters in American Government: The Congress, The President and the Federal Judiciary. As a teacher I love test days. Class is usually over in a much shorter time and all I have to do is run the scan trons through the machine and post the grades online. Easy Cheesy.

Of course, as a student it is much more nerve wracking. Test day is the culmination of everything the learning process is about. Being able to recall concepts and information in a compressed time schedule can be really tough. At least, as a student, you have the benefit of knowing when the test is coming and being able (hopefully motivated) to prepare for the test. And yes, as a teacher, it is VERY easy to tell who has studied and who has not.

The tests of life aren’t that easy. They spring up unnoticed and tend to catch us off guard. If you are like me, most of the time you are left scratching your head wondering, “where did that come from?” I posted here about my recent test in life. It is a test that I have been failing at miserably. My friends at Deadly Viper refer to it as the Bling Bling Assassin. This morning I got my answer to the test during my quiet time.

Don’t love the world’s ways. Don’t love the world’s goods. Love of the world squeezes out love for the Father. Practically everything that goes on in the world—wanting your own way, wanting everything for yourself, wanting to appear important—has nothing to do with the Father. It just isolates you from him. The world and all its wanting, wanting, wanting is on the way out—but whoever does what God wants is set for eternity.

1 John 2:15-17 (The Message)

Pretty clear. Pretty easy to understand now. And its not like I didn’t know what the answer is, it’s just that sometimes in the midst of a test it’s really hard to recall the answer.

What are the questions you are facing right now?

5 responses

  1. mimi

    That scripture is awesome and the Message really helps it come alive. The test I am facing right now is if I really believe that Jesus is the answer for EVERYONE!! do I believe he has the power to deliver my friends from despair, confusion and defeat. Do I believe he has the power to take someone who is lost and reveal himself to them, and that they can move from darkness into the light? I feel it in my heart, but I MUST show it through my actions. I am facing one of those tests tonight. I will let you know how it goes.

    July 9, 2008 at 4:44 pm

  2. kenyongerbrandt

    mimi–I can’t wait to see how God reveals the answer to this one.

    July 9, 2008 at 7:21 pm

  3. What does it mean for me to really, truly live for God and God alone? To walk humbly with Him all of my days?

    July 9, 2008 at 10:20 pm

  4. Pingback: Where Is The Love? « My Blahg Life by Kenyon Gerbrandt

  5. kenyongerbrandt

    tawny–the quientessential questions of Chrisitianity…to walk humbly. I love the way you ask that question.

    July 10, 2008 at 5:39 pm

Leave a Reply

