Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

I’m still here.

A blogger of my caliber can’t afford too much time away. In other words I realize that my audience is still developing and that capturing the attention of those who pass by or actually subscribe requires me to be like Metamucil…consistent and regular.

So where have I been? Right here. In Tulsa. On Tuesday I had the opportunity to spend the day with an incredible friend of mine; Yacouba Seydou. He is the man who created the organization that I traveled to Niger with.

Yacouba has an amazing story to share about his own life that challenges me to look at life here on earth differently. Yacouba was born in Niger and raised Muslim as the overwhelming majority of people in that country are. Given the opportunity to come to the United States to study agriculture under a USAID grant Yacouba spent sometime working in the Nigerien government. Then in the early 1990s he had the opportunity to come to the US again to work on a Master’s degree. This time after finishing his studies he stayed in the US working at a meat packing plant in western Kansas.

One night while lying in bed Yacouba was visited by Jesus Christ in a vision. Jesus appeared dressed in white and surrounded by a great light. He reached out his hand and placed a wafer in Yacouba’s mouth. The vision unnerved Yacouba and he decided to go to the store and find something to eat. While at the store a man introduced himself to Yacouba as a pastor at a local church. Yacouba began attending church learning about the Bible and Jesus.

Over time Yacouba began to feel that God was calling him back to his country to minister to the people there. He attended ORU for a short while, but eventually felt that God was calling him to just go.

There is something remarkable about people who have come literally face to face with Jesus. They are undeterred by “religion” or “theology”. Their faith is built upon an unmovable conviction that indeed Jesus is alive and powerful. That Jesus is working to spread the message of his love and grace to everyone using anyone and anything he pleases. In fact, what appear to be obstacles are really opportunities for the power of Jesus to be shown to all those involved.

So this past Tuesday I found myself in an unusual spiritual condition. Faced with the reality of my own lack of faith in many areas, I repented of cheapening Jesus and his power. I realized that all the things I thought I controlled; I really don’t. In fact, control is really an illusion. Do I control how much money I make? Maybe a little, but there are all those unexpected things that pop up as a reminder that No I don’t control my money as much as I think. Do I control how and what others think? I may be able to alter perceptions about myself but the bottom line is that I can’t control what or how others think; about myself, about others, or really about anything.

So I have associated an old word with my new thinking. Pussyfooting. I have been pussyfooting around with the Truth. And by doing so…I have greatly limited the power of Jesus to work in and through me.

I am truly sorry.

How are you pussyfooting with the gospel?

* Parts of Yacouba’s story are taken from a written account compiled by Dr John Stamm.

3 responses

  1. Karen

    Kenyon,

    I want you to know that your blog is my favourite. Some that I read come across as wanting to fit a certain mold, be something like everyone else in the group they aspire to be part of. But you… you are real. I feel like there is nothing false or fake in your words; you are just being you and laying on the table what you are thinking and feeling and questioning. It makes me want to sit down with you and a coffee or a leisurely meal and have a long conversation getting to really know each other. Some of the issues/struggles you raise I feel inclined to speak into but I hold back because I really do not know you and therefore cannot understand the whole of it. It seems presumptuous to think I could have something to say. Please keep up the blog and sharing of Kenyon with your readers.

    As for your question about pussyfooting with the Gospel… I think I have entered into a period that has lasted too long wherein I still believe as firmly and am sustained by faith but the passion does not burn as strong. The rest of life has taken center place. God is at the fringes. I know part of it stems from the lacking in my life of an alive church or any kind of true fellowship rooted in Christ. But I also know it cannot stay this way. I just do not know how to change it; to experience again the fire, the connection to God in every moment, the awareness of and obedience to His calling on my time. I keep recalling the words to the Laodiceans in Revelation 3:

    I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth.

    My life, my deeds….are they lukewarm.

    I do not fear that God will spit me out but I know that I am hurting Him every minute of everyday in which I basically ignore Him and take His friendship and love for granted.

    July 24, 2008 at 6:15 pm

  2. mimi

    good words kenyon, i have also been guilty of pussy footing around. I am scared to speak boldly what I believe. I also had the pleasure of meeting yacouba and my life has been changed also. i have not been living as one who knows the all powerful God. i have been scared, scarce, unbelieving. not stepping out too far, because I guess i didn’t think God would be there if I did that. I am also deathly afraid of what people think of me. I want to defend that statement even as I say it, but I cannot. I don’t want to be a “jesus freak” . I have also had to ask forgiveness for my unbelief. Karen, I appreciated your honesty. I wish you lived here in tulsa we could all sit down together and have a good conversation.:)

    July 24, 2008 at 7:39 pm

  3. Karen–Thanks so much for your kind words. Perhaps we may never meet face to face in this life, but we all have an obligation to keep one another focused and accountable to not “pussyfooting” around with the gospel. My prayer today is that everyone reading this post is infused with a renewed passion and determination to ACTUALLY live like Jesus Christ is alive!

    mimi–Thank you too for your words. ditto for what I have said to Karen.

    July 24, 2008 at 8:26 pm

Leave a Reply

