Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Vacation.

Well this week I am on vacation and so I thought that I would share a few images and memories thus far.

Monday night went to the Royals Redsox game in Kansas City with my older brother. It was a great game that the Royals won. Here was a key play in the game though the real action was missed by the cameraman.

On Tuesday we traveled from Kansas City to Springfield, MO and on the way stopped at a cheese outlet in Oesceola. Wonderful. Simply wonderful. All the free sample cheeses. We I of course just had to buy some. Here is a pic of my daughter and I outside the store with our bag and cups o’ goods.

Then on Wednesday my brother in law took me kayaking on Lake Taneycomo. We put in by the Branson Landing and paddled around the area for a couple of hours. This was my first attempt at kayaking and I was really nervous about rolling over because the water is a constant 50 degrees Fahrenheit year round. I didn’t rollover the whole time, but I also didn’t take any pictures. I had bought one of those disposal submersible camera’s just for the occasion and left it in the van. DOH! But afterward we hung out at the Landing for a bit and watched the fire/fountain show.

Then on Thursday I went fishing on the Finley River by myself. It was AWESOME. I caught 2 large mouth, 1 small mouth, 3 rock bass, and 6 or so perch. I did have my disposable/submersible camera with me and took some shots, but of course it’s not digital so we’ll have to wait on those.

As usual I’m learning some stuff about myself on vacation. Like how to balance time away and time with the family (my immediate family, wife and daughter especially). But also managing things that have to get done while still attempting to detach myself from my work for a couple of days. It’s not easy. So far I have finished and sent out a video project. I have written an article for a magazine and I still have some school work to get done before classes start on the 19th. I’m not saying all this to make myself out to be a martyr, I’m just recognizing that it is hard to really get away and disconnect and I am realizing that even on vacation there has to be balance. It’s something I’m still learning.

What are your vacation plans? If you’ve already gone on vacation what was your favorite thing?

One response

  1. scootergirl1978

    My vacation is housesitting for you while you are on vacation 🙂 It is pretty awesome! My favorite thing (and possibly my biggest downfall because I stay up too late) is the wi-fi! Actually, my most awesome days were actually away from your house at the leadership conference which was amazing! I’m glad you’re having fun!

    August 9, 2008 at 3:50 am

Leave a Reply

