Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Youthful Vengeance

It’s been awhile, but I’m still here.

Today in my quiet time I read the very interesting and applicable account of Rehoboam in 2 Chronic…what?…cles.

verse 8: But Rehoboam rejected the advice the elders gave him and consulted the young men who had grown up with him and were serving him.

and then later in verse 19: So Israel has been in rebellion against the house of David to this day.

I was pretty convicted by what these scriptures had to say.

  1. Youthful arrogance tends to blind better judgement.
  2. Youthful inexperience tends to make difficult situations more difficult.
  3. Youthful invulnerability tends to reveal vulnerabilities.

I’m 35 and still consider myself a “young guy”. So I recognize these traits only because I see them in myself. More and more there seems to be a bigger emphasis upon youth. 40 is the new 30. What’s the latest technology? How hip are you? While I am 35 I never have really focused on these things, but I have definitely felt their lure in my life. Even in the church I have the pull to the latest and greatest. We are enamored by the new, the young.

But what about the old?

If you are young how do you protect yourself from youthful arrogance?

If you are older how do you keep yourself from being marginalized?

One response

  1. scootergirl1978

    Since I’m not even 30 yet! (less than 6 months though) then I guess I’m still young and I try to protect myself by trying to spend more time listening for what God wants me to do. I also talk with my friends so I can get different viewpoints or confirm my own thoughts.

    August 14, 2008 at 11:31 pm

Leave a Reply

