Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Voting God’s Will.

This is a picture of prayers that were posted during our service this past Sunday. We wanted people to pray for their “issue”. It was a really powerful service. The whole point was to stop and simply recognize that whatever happens God is in control and he is orchestrating things to his great purpose.

So that leads me to this question; is it really possible to “vote” God’s will? This would suggest that there is but one candidate that by voting for we are signifying the fact that indeed God has chosen this one person to be elected. Furthermore, by not voting for that candidate or by voting for the opposite candidate then we are voting against God’s will. Additionally, if it is God’s will that a particular candidate take office then really what does my vote do either way? One last question: what if I don’t sense that God is willing me to vote for a particular candidate? Does this mean that I am out of touch with God? Or could it be that God doesn’t really care who I vote for but cares more about who I trust?

Help me out here…

7 responses

  1. kim

    aaaaaaauuuuugggggghhhhhh. I don’t have answers. Just the same questions.

    November 3, 2008 at 11:37 am

  2. kenyongerbrandt

    Well at least then I know I’m not alone and that helps me too!

    November 3, 2008 at 12:00 pm

  3. Caleb

    You’re assuming that there is a candidate that God would find acceptable to run this country. Considering how the political world has behaved over the last few years, do you think God has found someone that is acceptable? Before you can vote for God’s candidate He’s got to choose one and if He ever did I would imagine America would notice that there was something special about that person. If all that were true I doubt the election would be so contested. Therefore one has to conclude that the last time God chose someone to be president was Ronald Reagan. Hope that helps.

    November 3, 2008 at 1:02 pm

  4. All great questions, I wish the answering were as easy as the questioning. I have come to this conclusion: I must seek and cry out to God, He may answer or He may decide to lead me to a new question.

    November 3, 2008 at 1:28 pm

  5. kenyongerbrandt

    Well…I’m still pondering this question, and I keep coming back to the final question: Who do I put my trust in? That seems to be a simple enough answer, but I’m concerned that I’m not living that out. My heart begins to beat a little faster when I hear X about candidate Y or when someone tells me A about candidate B (I hate equations by the way). It seems to me that Jesus lived a perfectly apolitical life while here on earth. He paid his taxes and he respected those in authority even when they didn’t have the backbone to stand up for the truth. Which of course was all God’s will. The funny thing. The most ironic thing is that a lot of people wanted him (Jesus) to be their candidtate (King) and yet he refused. Which tells me that God is NOT about the business of setting up an earthly political government.

    November 3, 2008 at 3:57 pm

  6. Loren

    It returns to the question of who do you put your faith in. Do you believe that either of the men running for President can solve any of your problems? If you do, then your faith is in man and not in God and it does not matter who you cast your vote for, you will be disappointed. I think you have to vote for the person who most closely holds your values (a difficult task in this election for me) and then pray that God will intervene when needed and give our leaders wisdom despite themselves.

    Jesus did challenge the leaders of his time, I don’t think he was completely uninvolved the political happenings of his day. We have to pay attention and let our voice be heard. For too long special interests with the loudest voice have been the only people letting their voice be heard while the rest of us thought of them as a pesky fly that was annoying but fairly harmless. I think we are on the verge of paying the price of silence.

    November 3, 2008 at 10:26 pm

  7. Caleb

    All joking aside this time, I think God is less concerned about who the people of America vote for and more concerned about how the church of America acts. What I mean is what’s more important to God? Some country that’s been around for less than 250 years (that’s a short period time if you think in terms of eternity) or the body of Christ which is going to be around till Christ returns? Obviously America is the greatest nation ever but it’s great because of it’s people (which is getting harder to say as time goes on). It’s people have done great things because they have historically been a Christian nation. I think that God puts His faith in His people and not in some government. Remember that God did not want to give the Israelites a king, it was the people that wanted a ruler.

    Give to Caesar what is Caesar’s and give to God what is God’s. Be a good citizen, vote, get informed about the issues, pay taxes no matter how ridiculously high they are, but remember that none of those things will solve societies ills only God will. What candidate do you put your trust in? The one that seems to say and do the things you agree with, there’s not another way to figure it out. If that person doesn’t turn out the way you thought it would, they’ll only be around 4 to 8 years anyway.

    To sum up, be a good American citizen but if you want to see God’s will done, then for starters do it yourself and second, save the lost. Love God, love people everything else will take care of itself.

    November 4, 2008 at 8:30 am

Leave a Reply

