Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

One Final Thought.

Kenyon after Africa

Yes it has been a while. And yes I have been busy/out of town. On December 8th I left with 3 others for Niger West Africa for 10 days. We returned after a couple days in NYC on Sunday December 21st. Then our family headed up the road to Springfield, MO for Christmas with family. Needless to say I haven’t posted anything here for quite awhile. To be honest I have contemplated closing my blog down as it just has not been a priority. As the year ends I am faced with the prospect of all the things I want to accomplish next year and frankly blogging is not one of them. But, alas, I have decided to keep going. Why? I need the outlet. I am an internalizer and by blogging about  my thoughts, experiences, and opportunities it forces me to think about them more completely. I am my own worst enemy. My thoughts become clouded and obscured by my own prejudices, feelings and preconceptions. By making them public it allows others to consider and comment on them. It also forces me to articulate those thoughts and as I do so my perceptions and feelings and prejudices are challenged. So even if my audience is small to none, by blogging I am accomplishing a very important objective. So let me say thanks. Thanks for reading my rambling thoughts and feelings. Thanks for commenting back. Thanks for sticking with me through long periods of silence.

I want to leave you with a passage of scripture that I have been going over the last couple of days. It is a lot and I am simply trying to discern what God wants me to hear through it all. I share this with you because I think God in his timing is saying something important to me and to others about new beginnings. It is Ephesians 3:14-21:

“When I think of the wisdom and scope of God’s plan, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from his glorious, unlimited  resources he will give you mighty inner strength through his Holy Spirit. And I pray that Christ will be more and more at home in your hearts as you trust in him. May your roots go down deep into the soil of God’s marvelous love. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love really is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is so great you will never fully understand it. Then you will be filled with the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

Now glory be to God! By his mighty power at work within us, he is able to accomplish infinitely more than we would ever dare to ask or hope. May he be given glory in the church and in Christ Jesus forever and ever through endless ages. Amen.”

So whatchya think? I’m curious is there any one theme that comes to your mind as you read this passage?

Leave your thoughts and have  a Happy New Year!!!

3 responses

  1. Missy

    I love the scripture that you posted. It is such a wonderful prayer and so full of truth. If we really did realize the depth of which the Lord loves us. what exciting lives we would live. What are some ways that we can experience and know how much he loves us? Thanks for posting. I have been watching and waiting.

    January 2, 2009 at 10:55 am

  2. scootergirl1978

    I think for me, it’s a reminder of how much I really need to trust Him and how a lot of the time I don’t trust Him as much as I should. Through everything that has happened, I’ve tried so hard to trust Him and I have found myself stumbling recently. So, it is a good reminder. Thanks.

    January 2, 2009 at 8:39 pm

  3. These verses make me excited to GROW in Him this year. We will never come to the end of who He is.

    I enjoy your blog, I am glad you didn’t decide to quit. 🙂

    January 2, 2009 at 9:10 pm

Leave a Reply

