Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Defocus on the Family

family

Do Christian’s place too much emphasis on the family?

Reading through 1 Corinthians 7 I get the feeling that American Christians have defined themselves as married couples with children and anyone not there yet is still maturing. It’s a blanket statement with absolutely no scientific support. But it sure feels true. Paul states throughout this passage that it is better to remain unmarried. That married people have their attention divided between serving God and serving their family. Can someone serve God by serving their family–no doubt. But Paul seems pretty adamant here that it is God first and starting and serving a family second. He admits that he is speaking from wisdom and not a command from God and can hear people gasping at the thought of not being “fulfilled” by getting married and raising a family.

But I have to ask the question: Do we place too much emphasis on the family as Christians in America?

2 responses

  1. Sara Landerdahl

    Kenyon, THANK YOU!!!! Thank you for bringing this to light. I am now 40 years old, and, yes, still single. I have long felt like an outsider in many ways in my church, no matter which church I have attended. It’s hard to find good fellowship among believers near my age because they’re all married. However, I did find an excellent Sunday school class that has embraced me. I just wish people would remember that singles like to be involved with their families. The one area that continues to be difficult is having a social life. Married couples think about other married couples when it comes to socializing outside of the church building. And, yes, even at 40, I often feel like I haven’t really grown up like everyone else because I’m not married with a family. How could I know those stresses? Well, how can they know my stresses? I don’t have a “help-mate” to help with anything. I am completely on my own for EVERYTHING. The church IS all about family. While I don’t discourage that–the Lord knows how quickly our families are falling apart–it would do church leadership well to focus more on being a Christian and what that means as it affects the family, job situation, etc.

    July 7, 2009 at 9:39 am

  2. kenyongerbrandt

    Hey Sara,

    Thanks for the comments. I have heard this echoed from other singles as well. I’m seeing the importance of the inclusiveness of the gospel and this goes beyond family emphasis. What about homelessness or addictions or other things that we as Christians tend to marginalize by not “going there”?

    July 9, 2009 at 8:36 am

Leave a Reply

