Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Tulsa Documentary

While Tulsa is all abuzz about a current film being shot in downtown, I got exciting news about another Tulsa film project today. The trailer for Burn: The Evolution of an American City is now up on youtube. You can watch it below.

After posting a series of entries on the Tulsa Race riot (here here and here) I was contacted by the filmakers about my interest in the events leading up to and out of the Tulsa Race Riot of 1921. Eventually it lead to me being a part of the documentary and I have been awaiting the final outcome of their efforts. So to see the trailer I am very excited about the release of the film.

As soon as I find out anything else about the project I will post it here.

3 responses

  1. Hey Kenyon,

    This is Harold from the BURN documentary. Just writing to let you know that your help was invaluable on the project. It wouldn’t have been the same without you. Thanks again. You are first in line for a copy.

    Harold and Fior,

    July 3, 2009 at 5:39 pm

  2. Larry Thomlinson

    As a Tulsa native, I am very aware of the ’21 Race Riot. I was a TV jounalist in Tulsa as well as here in Los Angeles, CA.

    I have published a collection of short stories, the last, “Allie” tells the story of our “maid” — as they were called then — her impact on my life and her (dialogue added for impetus) involvment in the riot as a young woman.

    Am anxious to see the documentary.

    My book: “Life, Death and other Dysfunctions”
    Available on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.com

    Larry Thomlinson

    July 4, 2009 at 6:29 pm

  3. kenyongerbrandt

    Harold,

    Thanks for the kind words, I was just happy to be a part of the project.

    Larry,

    I am interested in reading your short stories and your book…I’ll be looking into those here shortly. I teach American Government part-time at TCC and these resources can be invaluable to helping get the story across. Thanks!

    July 9, 2009 at 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

