Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

When it comes to serving…

images

I had the opportunity to sit in on a conference call with Dino Rizzo from Healing Place Church in Baton Rogue, LA. He has recently published a book called Servolution. The bottom line: when it comes to examples of churches embodying the idea of serving your community they are doing it very well. So I was challenged. I’ve always been one to talk big about serving and I’ve tried to live it a little. The truth is that I often find myself sitting at my desk, doing stuff on the computer, looking out the window with the feeling that something is not right. I’m a pastor. I’m supposed to be out serving people. Loving them. Showing them how much Jesus loves them. Yet I’m very content to sit inside, in the AC, manipulating binary code on a computer, all in the name of Jesus. (I don’t doubt that some of what I do on the computer is essential to accomplishing kingdom tasks.) So my challenge to myself this week. Get out of the office and go serve somewhere. Kick my butt if I don’t!

When it comes to serving, what do you do to get yourself out the door?

Leave a Reply

