Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Cursed

It was a hot summer day. I don’t remember all the circumstances, but what I do remember was the feeling of hot rage boiling through my body as I slammed out of the kitchen into the garage. The door hadn’t taken a hard enough beating to assuage my anger so I swung at the next thing I saw. It happened to be the antennae on our green station wagon (yes I believe it also had faux wood grain as well). Sure enough. “Snap”. Then the clinking of thin metal on the cold concrete floor. Quickly, I snapped back to reality. I knew I was in trouble and it was my own fault.

It wasn’t the only time something like this has happened. Sure as I have matured my temper doesn’t flare quite like it did back in its heyday. But every once in a while it rears its head as a reminder of my own humanity. My own fallen nature. It makes me feel cursed.

The other day I came to a completely new understanding of curse. Genesis 3:14-19 God declares a series of curses based on the newly corrupted relationship between mankind, creation and God. What is of particular interest to me was the curse placed upon the serpent. (Now if your not familiar with the story God created Adam and Eve and placed them in the Garden of Eden and told them they could enjoy everything in the garden except for the fruit of one particular tree. Along comes Satan in the form of a serpent and convinces Eve to eat the fruit who then turns to Adam, who was with her the whole time, and he takes a bite too.) This is what God said,

“Because you have done this, you are cursed more than all the animals, domestic and wild. You will crawl on your belly, groveling in the dust as long as you live. And I will cause hostility between you and the woman, and between your offspring and her offspring. He will strike your head, and you will strike his heel.” (Genesis 3:14-15 NLT)

I’ve always looked at this passage and thought to myself that the serpent really got off pretty easy. 1. I always assumed that the serpent was a snake so he was already accustomed to crawling on his belly anyhow. Apparently not the case. 2. It just seems natural to me that for the most part we as humans are scared of snakes and usually for good reason…they like to crawl and bite. But here’s the reality. This isn’t just a man vs snakes situation. This is a man vs. Satan deal. And the words God speaks are more than a curse they are a prophecy about how man and Satan would get along. Satan is a distraction. Satan is limited in his power. The evidence here suggests that Satan can wound us, but not mortally. Getting struck in the heel hurts (ask any mom the next time your at Wal-Mart), but it’s not life threatening. Furthermore, God states that the offspring of Eve (that’s us) would strike Satan in the head. Getting struck in the head is usually a life threatening situation. This has been fulfilled ultimately by Jesus!

The bottom line: We have been delivered from Satan. The victory is Jesus’ and he invites us to share in it.

What areas of your life do you feel cursed? How would that change if you KNEW that the curse had been broken?

Leave a Reply

