Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

ILTI 2010 Recap part 1

This post was originally sent as an email dated July 13, 2010.

Praise God! We are nearing the end of our training here at the 2010 International Literacy Training Institute in Tulsa. It has been a long and hard road, but I have learned so much. We have covered teaching the ESL curriculum “Passport to English”, teaching English literacy curriculum “Firm Foundations. teaching literacy in other languages using the LEI primer curriculum and now we are finishing our time by learning how to create an LEI primer in any language.

WHEW!

This is not including the various “special” sessions that have covered topics like “Leadership Development”, “Teaching Adult Students”, “Sharing Your Faith”, and others. I want to thank you for your prayers through this time. The last couple of weeks I have been quite fatigued and struggled to stay alert during our class. But by God’s grace I have made it through and am very excited to begin implementing what I have learned.

As my training comes to a close a few thoughts come to my mind.

1. There is so much more that LEI can do to enhance and multiply the fruits of its ILTI training through the use of media. Even during our class sessions there have been several occasions when students have requested further support or resources utilizing video.

2. There are a couple of people here in Tulsa that God has placed on my heart to possibly take on as ESL students. (Please pray for more clarity and guidance on this matter.)

3. I am so excited to finish my training and get started with my media work here at LEI!

4. I am also discerning my role and involvement in bringing LEI literacy training and resources to West Africa. This might include the construction of primer. (Would you please pray about this as well.)

I am so thankful for your prayers and support. It has been a very busy and challenging experience and I want to invite you all to come and celebrate with us. We will be having a graduation ceremony here in Tulsa this Friday July 16th 7PM at Redeemer Presbyterian Church . If you are around and available it would be an honor to celebrate this milestone with you.

Thank you and God Bless!

Kenyon

Leave a Reply

