Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Strongly Superstitious

How often have you heard it said, “I’m not superstitious.”? I’ve said it myself many times. I think it’s really a lie. I think that we are all superstitious. Maybe for some NOT being superstitious is a superstition.

I’m processing the meaning behind superstitions. The conclusion at this point: superstitions make us strong. With a superstition we are in control. Our behavior produces a known outcome. We are empowered.

So what about faith? I’ve heard many refer to faith as a superstition and I have to agree. How many times have I told myself, “If only I had prayed more or read my Bible more or…”

Is this sounding familiar to anyone?

Romans 4:3 “For the Scriptures tell us, ‘Abraham believed God, and God counted him as righteous because of his faith.'”

I love the challenge of this scripture. Abraham didn’t perform the right acts to garner God’s favor. Abraham had God’s favor because God chose Abraham. Out of recognition that God had chosen him, Abraham obeyed God. This is so important. We get it backwards. We tend to think that if we perform certain deeds THEN God will love me.

Faith is so hard. There are those times when difficult things happen and we want to believe that we could have changed the outcome if we had just ________________. True faith accepts that no matter what happens God is in control and God is as work orchestrating all things to his glorious purpose. As I said above, superstitions make us strong. Faith makes us dependent. Faith puts us in the vulnerable position of having to trust something that is not visible.

Even as I am writing this I know that I don’t fully understand this. I’m not volunteering myself for the crucible. I humbly recognize that my life is so blessed, but it is blessed not because I have done A, B, C or D.

It is blessed because of God.

Are there areas of your life that you go back and forth between superstition and faith?

Leave a Reply

