Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Gracenomics

I had the opportunity to pre-read Mike Foster’s upcoming book Gracenomics and I wanted to take a little time to review and recommend the book to you.

Mike Foster and his friend Jud Wilhite created an online community called People of the Second Chance (or POTSC). You can visit the website here: http://www.POTSC.com As the name implies the whole purpose of this community is to create an environment of radical, even scandalous, grace. Gracenomics stands as the clarion call for this type of community. Not just in the church, but in our workplaces and private lives as well.

As a Christian the concept of grace is an essential element to my faith. In fact, grace, by faith is what allows me to relate with God. So it was from this perspective that I began reading this book. However, it became somewhat frustrating attempting to read the book from that perspective. Gracenomics IS NOT a theological dissertation on biblical grace. In fact, it is far from that. It is more of an appeal, particularly to the business world to apply grace principles daily. I appreciate and affirm most everything written in the book. (And when you write content about grace, how can you argue against it without coming across as being ungracious? 😉

There is one core statement made by the author that I do disagree with. As a part of Gracenomics Mike encourages us to take the perspective that “people are not evil, they are weak“. For me this creates a major problem. 1. If I am just weak, how can I ever have hope in improving my condition? 2. If’ I am not evil, how can God hold me accountable for my actions? After all, He’s the one who made me, right?

The human condition is more than mere weakness, it is horribly broken. So broken that we cannot save ourselves. If fixing ourselves was possible, certainly by now things would be much improved!

I love the POTSC community. I love Mike Foster and Jud Wilhite. I am challenged by the idea of extending more grace to everyone in my life. God knows how much grace I need! I recommend this book, just as Mike says in the introduction, as the starting point of a larger conversation about grace.

Will you join the conversation?

You can learn more about the book here: http://potsc.storenvy.com/

2 responses

  1. Absolutely agree! Looking forward to reading!

    September 21, 2010 at 10:13 am

    • kenyongerbrandt

      Thanks Jimmy for the comments. I really enjoyed the book and it is a pretty easy ready.

      September 21, 2010 at 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

