Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

No Job

I realized this morning that I don’t like referring to my work as “my job”. Job now has the connotation of forced labor. I’m one of the lucky ones that has a calling. As Media Director at Literacy and Evangelism International I spend at least 60% of my time focused on things that I am passionate about and are areas of strength for me.

But this isn’t about me and my awesome “job”.

I realize that there are many people in my life who have invested in me and helped me learn about myself and God’s design for me.

So, like a winner at the Oscars, here is my acceptance speech:

“First, I would like to thank my parents and my family. They have always been a source of love and encouragement. My dad has taught me the value of hard work and not feeling sorry for yourself when things get tough. My mom has shown me what grace and hospitality are all about. My brothers and sister who are always so much fun to hang out with have taught me the value of family love and care. My extended family who have accepted me and trusted me to make decisions about moving their daughter and sister (and granddaughter and niece) away from her home. I would like to thank Mike Miller as a long time friend and mentor. Mike took me on my first international mission trip and since then has continually invested in me as a leader. I would like to thank The Heart Church who has been so gracious to allow me the space and time to focus in on my strengths discovering more specifically what it is that God has called me to. I would like to thank Dave Jewitt and Your One Degree for guiding me and spending so much time and caffeine on helping me to discover God’s specific DESIGN. And of course, thanks to my wife Missy and my daughter Eve, who have been my source of inspiration and perseverance. It is because of you two that I want to be the best that I can be! Thanks for all your love.”

As the music starts up and the announcer starts to talk over me…

“And of course I’d like to thank Jesus Christ who is the One who makes all things possible…”

How would your acceptance speech go?

4 responses

  1. Leslie Donegan

    you forgot to thank your wife’s bff that you took from her 3 weeks before she was to give birth to her first child. But she isn’t bitter anymore! 🙂

    October 6, 2010 at 9:47 am

  2. kenyongerbrandt

    Not my fault…did you see how quick they queued the music and “ushered” me off stage…I was getting to that, trust me! 😉

    October 6, 2010 at 9:53 am

  3. Leslie Donegan

    Oh well i guess I won’t hold it against you. You can do an entire blog about me to make up for it! LOL!

    October 6, 2010 at 10:06 am

  4. Leslie Donegan

    well you can just write a beautiful tribute to me on your blog then!LOL!

    October 6, 2010 at 10:09 am

Leave a Reply

