Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

The Garden

 

My mother-in-law is a Master Gardner. Which basically means that when it comes to gardening, she can beat up your mother-in-law. It also means that she keeps some pretty amazing gardens at her house. I’ve watched her over the years transform various areas of the yard into beautiful landscaped pieces of art. It’s a lot of hard work.

It’s fall now and you can tell everything is in a natural state of decline. Some of the flowers are still blooming, but get lost in the piles of leaves or dying plants. It is a shame to see all that hard work begin to fade away. I realized that there are two seasons that you really get to enjoy the beauty of all the work put into a garden. In the spring the aesthetic beauty is amazing and in the summer the fruit is just as tasty.

You’ve probably heard people talk about the seasons of life. Well I have realized that not only is it important and beneficial to identify those seasons, but to also enjoy them. Right now for me I am in a season of harvest particularly with my “career”. There have been so many summers and winters spent cultivating, weeding and sowing. Now the fruit is beginning to be harvested. Just as much as I want to enjoy harvesting the fruits of my labor I want to enjoy being in this season. I know that it will end. There will be another transition. Another season of tilling the ground in preparation of  a new crop.

But before I get there.

Breathe in. Breathe out.

Soak up the scenery. Enjoy the moment.

What season are you in? How can you enjoy the moment, even if it is difficult?

Leave a Reply

