Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Sierra Leone

We arrived in Lungi late in the afternoon on Friday. Thankfully we all arrived along with our luggage. In fact, once we got to the terminal we were ushered into the VIP lounge where a woman took our passports and baggage claim tickets and had our entrance visas stamped and started pulling and stacking our luggage. I felt like the king of Sierra Leone!

Soon we were off to eat dinner at the Bangura’s house in Lungi. That night we stayed at Kay’s Guest House. Basically a motel. Minus a running shower (I bathed from a bucket). I was so tired though, I slept quite well.

It is very humid here. They are still in the midst of the rainy season here. It is also interesting to see these massive thunderheads build up most afternoons. I can see how hurricanes have their origins off the coast of Africa. So much moisture. The terrain is quite hilly. Mountainous for an Okie. The mountains are more reminiscent of Mexico than New Mexico. Very lush, jagged and not too terribly tall.

Saturday we ventured to Bo. An adventure it was! One of the vehicles broke down twice on the way. Each time it was in a village and we had time to stop and meet the villagers, even taking time to film Pastor Gregory making an appeal for a water well on behalf of one of the villages. We did make it to Bo. The roads were actually very nice. We made it in time for dinner. Most of our meals are chicken in rice. We have had fish once and once we had chicken and spaghetti.

In Bo we are staying a the Sahara Hotel. I’ve been close to the Sahara and Bo is not the Sahara. Funny how universal the idea of the grass being greener on the other side (funny and ironic). The accommodations are nice. The hotel seems to be fairly new. Bo suffers from frequent power outages, everyday so far, usually after a rain. The water in the rooms is just about as intermittent (not sure why that is). One side of the hallway will have water while the other side won’t. My room is particularly small, but it’s fine for just little ole me!

We started the primer construction institute yesterday and despite a few hiccups here and there things are going well. Most of the participants have some LEI training. This should make the actual primer construction easier next week and the following. From my end the day was a good chance to get a feel for the facility and pace of things. The room is concrete with windows and doors providing ample natural light. The acoustics aren’t that great and made for a tough time in a situation with a translator. I set up my Zoom in close proximity to the two speakers and also used the on board video mic. Next time I will wireless mic the english translator plus the Zoom (have I told you how much I love the Zoom?). I did have some SD card issues, but think that I have worked that out. I am staying up late pulling all the video, audio and pictures from all the cards and starting fresh each day. I picked up a Seagate GoFlex Pro 500GB 7200 RPM drive that connects via FireWire 800…AWESOMENESS! It allows me to quickly and conveniently back up all this data without a massive bulky external hard drive and a mess of cords. I keep a notebook of my shots corresponding to each card (I labeled each card with a number). I don’t like my system and need to fine tune this as it can still be confusing which cards have which shots etc…

All told I am enjoying my time. I miss my family like crazy but I have decided to do what it takes to call them. It’s not the best but it sure does help!

Theres a doozy of an update. Enjoy! Thanks for the prayers. So far we are safe, comfortable and healthy. Praise God!

Till next time.

One response

  1. Jean Hord

    Hi Kenyon: Thanks for the interesting update. Glad things are going well and especially glad all the luggage arrived with you! We’re keeping all of you in prayer (including Missy and Eve). Jean

    November 2, 2010 at 1:10 pm

Leave a Reply

