Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Half the Story…

Zacchaeus was a wee little man…a wee little man was he…

I love revisiting stories from the Bible that were so familiar to me as a child. Given his short stature Zacchaeus got creative and climbed a tree just so that he could get a glimpse of Jesus. This caught the attention of Jesus who called out to him to come down from the tree and invited himself over to his house for dinner. It’s a great story and I think it resonated with me as a child because I could identify with short people (I was, after all, a child). My recollections are centered around the emphasis of Zachaeus’ desperation to see Jesus. It is a great point.

How desperate are we to see Jesus?

But it is only half the story. Once the party moves to Zachaeus’ house, he makes a remarkable announcement:

“I will give half my wealth to the poor, Lord, and if I have cheated people on their taxes, I will give them back four times as much!” (Luke 19:8 NLT)

Half his wealth, and a pledge to payback anyone he cheated 4 times the amount. Not only did Zacchaeus see Jesus, he was radically changed by the encounter. There’s so much more to this story than a short little man trying to see Jesus. The aftermath of his encounter completely changed his life.

So really, how desperate are you to see Jesus?

Leave a Reply

