Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Blahginess!

Live and Let Lent

So this year for lent I thought I had come up with a purely genius idea.

Wait for it…

I decided to give up reading the Bible!

Yes. I know. Let me offer to you my logic.

1. It’s lent and lent is a time of preparation and anticipation of Christ’s resurrection. I thought that by giving up Bible reading I would be more in tune with what God was saying to me as I would be forced to “listen” more closely/carefully.

2. I work for a literacy mission (Literacy & Evangelism International or LEI). The whole premise for our ministry is to teach people how to read the Bible. So how great for me to “put my feet in their shoes.”

The result: initially I saw the whole thing as a fail. I only lasted  a few days and I was so desperate for reading God’s word that I decided I had to break my commitment. (Are you getting the irony of all this?) I was upset at myself for failing to keep my commitment to NOT read the Bible during lent. But here’s the deal. Once I got over all my pride I realized that God had shown me just how important reading the Bible is daily. Seriously, if you are a committed Christ follower, imagine what life would be like if you could not read a Bible.

Global Literacy Rates

By this map you can see just how much of the world’s population is affected by illiteracy. Even though the United States posts a 97% or greater literacy rate with a population of 300 million that’s at least 9 million who cannot read. The bottom line, we don’t have to travel to West Africa to be on the front lines of battling illiteracy (though certainly it is critical). There is plenty to do here in the U.S. And what better way to disciple a person than teaching them how to read!

The best part of this is that it is so easy to tutor a non-reader. Chances are your local library runs a literacy program where often there are far more students than tutors. Of course I am contractually obligated to let you know about LEI’s literacy tutor training. You can learn how to teach our bible-based English literacy curriculum Firm Foundations. If you are in the Tulsa area we have a training scheduled for next Tuesday (April 5th), Thursday (April 7th) and Saturday (April 9th). You can find out more by clicking here.

So there you go, my loss is your gain. My failure is your success.

But I’m curious, what’s your Lent fail?

Leave a Reply

